RH Gallery

Restoration Hardware
Greenwich, CT
Architect of Record: Granoff Architects
Design Architect: Backen, Gillam, & Kroeger Architects
Historic Preservation Architect: Beyer Blinder Belle Architects & Planners
1st Place Adaptive Reuse
Associated Builders & Contractors of CT., Inc., Excellence in Construction Award
  • This neoclassical building which served as Greenwich’s post office was transformed into the new RH Gallery for their signature brand of luxury home furnishings. This historic building located on Greenwich Avenue was built in 1917 and is listed with the National Register of Historic Places.
  • The entire building was demolished with the exception of the exterior walls and the first floor concrete slab. Within the existing footprint of the building, a new steel structure with a second floor was constructed.
  • Exterior work included the restoration of the original brick and limestone, new landscaping, and a new parking area at the rear of the building. The former loading dock, which was located on the Greenwich Avenue side of the structure, now serves as a courtyard and second entrance to RH Gallery.
  • The main entrance of the building showcases the original gas powered, cast-iron pendants which were fully restored and wired for electricity.
  • A new monumental staircase was installed and leads to the second floor which features a rooftop terrace that overlooks Greenwich Avenue.
  • Renovations included new fifteen foot windows, polished concrete floors, new electrical service and MEP equipment, restrooms, and installation of a new elevator.